Tracker|Orphanz|FZShows|Catalogue| FAQ |Search |Register|Mail us

Profile |Log in to check your private messages |Log in|Chat Room|Scrapbook|Zappateers map
Time signatures
Goto page:  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
wildfisherman
Vine Coordinator
uk.gif
Post 2008-02-06 01:15   [Quote] 
I'm not a musician and I can't hear these things clearly. I know a lot of Frank's music was not in 4/4 and I suspect that's part of the reason he sounds different from your regular Rocking Teenage Combo, even if you can't quite put your finger on it.

Could any of you who know about these things clear up what the time signatures are for any or all pieces you find interesting.

For a start, I think I can hear that

Filthy Habits is in 5/4

Pound For A Brown 7/4

Five Five Five 5/8, 5/8, 5/4 OK, I cheated, I read that somewhere

Thirteen 5/8, 5/4 Frank explained

but I'd be very pleased to have the signatures of other old favourites pointed out to me.

And what on earth happens at the beginning of King Kong - seems to start off in 4/4 alright but after about 5 bars I lose it completely. Does it just carry on the same but I can't hear it, or does it take off somewhere else?
 [Profile]  [PM] 
pbuzby
Site Admin
usa.gif
Post 2008-02-06 04:26   [Quote] 
Hi Wildfisherman -

Thirteen is in 5/8 + 4/4. (4/4 = 8/8, 5/8 + 8/8 = 13/8).

King Kong is in 6/8, although most versions from the Flo & Eddie band onward have a secondary theme where it changes to 4/4.

The other time signatures you mention are correct.

A few other Zappa odd-meter hits:

Dupree's Paradise, 5/4 (mostly)

Don't Eat The Yellow Snow, 7/4 (mostly)

Trance Fusion, 21/8 (9/8 + 12/8)

Outside Now, 11/8

Drowning Witch first solo, 9/8

Of course, other pieces like Black Page showed how bizarre it was possible to get while staying in 4/4.
 [Profile]  [PM] 
Ob
Power Poster
england.gif
Post 2008-02-06 08:54   [Quote] 
Watermelon in Easter Hay goes all the way up to 13 -
4/4 then 5/4

(I think)
 [Profile]  [PM] 
Ob
Power Poster
england.gif